Orchid Beauty Tips

Society Islands

The Society Islands are an archipelago of 14 islands in the South Pacific Ocean. They are part of French Polynesia. Most travelers make their way to the island of Tahiti, the largest island of the islands. It is the break point for most trips to French Polynesia.

Those visiting the island will find stunning natural beauty and a hospitable atmosphere. In addition, the waters have excellent visibility and mild currents. These are ideal for scuba diving, snorkeling, or exploring caves. There are many dive sites to choose from. You can explore deep vertical walls, nooks, and channels, or enjoy the luxuriant coral growth.

The Society Islands were first populated by Polynesians in 800 AD. They were later influenced by French culture. Many of them embraced Christianity by 1825. The French policy of assimilation produced a large Polynesian population. By the 1850s, nearly all the population had adopted Christianity.

Some of the most recognizable islands of the Society Islands include Moorea, Huahine, and Taha’a. The capital of the islands is Papeete. Other well-known islands in the archipelago are Bora Bora, Motu Iti, Raiatea, Maupiti, and Tupai. While most of the islands are uninhabited, they have several beaches and lagoons that attract tourists.

The islands of the Society Islands are separated into two clusters. The Windward Islands are to the east, while the Leeward Islands are to the west. The western portion of the archipelago includes the islands of Manuae, Tubuai-Manu, Raiatea, Motu One, and Tupai.

Some of the best scuba diving sites in the Society Islands include the Mounts of Ceran, St. Etienne Drop-Off, Miri-Miri, Roses, and Cargo Ship. Divers can also explore caves and hard coral constructions, or go snorkeling to see flora and fauna.

The Islands of the Society are known for their lush tropical vegetation, multicolored reefs, and a hospitable atmosphere. They have numerous good anchorages. Aside from these, the islands offer a wealth of scuba dive sites. Among these are Mounts of Ceran, Muri-Miri, Roses, Cargo Ship, and the Eagle Rays’ Station.

The archipelago is made up of a number of atolls and coral congregations. Each has its own airport. Visitors can take a ferry from Papeete to get to other islands in the archipelago. Several cruises from Tahiti sail through the Society Islands.

The currency in the Society Islands is all silver. It is worth ten cents in Chilean dollars, and twenty cents in United States dollars. During the late 1800s, the islanders began to adopt European habits, such as reading, writing, and wearing European cloth.

The largest island in the archipelago is Tahiti, which has an area of 403 square miles. It is surrounded by the Isthmus of Taravao, which narrows to the north. The eastern part of the island is pleasant. Coconuts and fruit grow in the east.

Another island in the archipelago is the uninhabited Bellingshausen Island. This island is triangular in shape and richly covered in tropical vegetation. However, it is the only island in the islands that is not covered by a barrier-reef.